St. Michael’s Drive

Today I did a couple of things of interest to you! Incredible how I have the power of knowing what’s of interest to you isn’t it? Many call it arrogance, I call it ESP.

Anyway, the first thing we did as a team today was visit the street which we will all become familiar with in the next 6 weeks.

St. Michael’s Drive was more than I anticipated in terms of street width, length, and traffic volume. Though I have done enough research on my own, and with the team, in terms of the amount of vehicles that travel the road on a daily basis, I was still extremely surprised to see it first hand. The street itself is very wide, and even though I consider myself somewhat athletic, I still had to nearly sprint to cross the road without a walk sign. Most people would depress the walk signal and wait, but I am an impatient young man. After the surprising physical width of the road came the vehicle traffic. I would consider St. Michael’s to be similar to many places I have seen in the southern United States, such as 20th Street in Vero Beach, Fl. It’s not as close to route 9 in Massachusetts as I initially thought due to the amount of lanes designated for travel. In most spots, Route 9 is a two to three lane road that simply handles a large amount of vehicles due to its lack of lanes to better distribute the traffic. St. Michaels, on the other hand, is an incredibly large byway that can not reconcile the difference between vehicular and pedestrian traffic. If anything, it seems as though more lanes could be added to handle the amount of traffic we witnessed earlier today! Fortunately, we are here to help the city in making St. Mike’s an easier road to traverse, as well as a more efficient roadway. After completion of our surveys designed to provide us with a better understanding of the local perspective, we will surely brainstorm ideas that will aid in making St. Mike’s another example of the Santa Fean experience.

About this entry